Quil And Belle

Wednesdays will be my personal topic days. Sometimes it will be about my life and people and loved ones in it. Sometimes it will be about topics I feel passionate about. Sometimes it will be requested topics (if I get to that point).

Many people who know me know how passionate I am about animals. I love animals. They are amazing. It’s amazing to see the personalities come out with them. They have bold personalities just like we do. Not many people recognize that though. And just like us, some are very intelligent and some aren’t.

A little over a year and a half ago, Dustyn and I were talking about getting a pet of our own. We had many different conversations about it. We both agreed that we would want a cat. We were talking about finding a kitten or two and raising them. The more we talked about it, the more excited we became. We just had to go out and find our kitten or kittens.

Then, one day, we got a call from Dustyn’s sister-in-law. Her dog was pregnant and she was looking to find homes for the puppies. We both discussed this and took it as a sign. We decided to take one puppy. We even became excited about the whole thing. I was a little antsy because I still missed Baby, but I knew it was time to love another dog. For those of you who don’t know, Baby is a dog I had most of my life. She was born on my ninth birthday and ran away/died on my twenty-first birthday.

Shortly after we told her our decision, the puppies were born. We were one of the first that got to choose ours. We chose the only girl. His sister-in-law sent me the picture of her and I knew the second I saw it that her name would be Annabelle. I also knew we’d call her Belle for short. I couldn’t wait until she was home with us.

v__85cd1

Later, we decided that it wouldn’t be fair to have her stay in our apartment by herself while we were at work. We felt that she would want a companion to play with. So we contacted his sister-in-law and asked if she had any more puppies available. She showed us the ones she had left. There was one who was almost a spitting image of Belle. Dustyn was attached instantly. We originally decided that he would be named Butch. We later changed his name to Quil to fit his personality better. He’s such a laid back and sweet spirit.

v__d3e5

 

After some time, it became obvious that Belle had chosen Dustyn as her own and Quil had chosen me. We were okay with this though. They both loved us both and that’s all that mattered to us. Even if they obviously loved one more than the other just a little bit. They still loved us both.

2015-08-31-05-56-23-1

 

They are now a little over a year and a half old. They will be two years in February. They are still a blessing to our lives. I wouldn’t trade them for the world. My Quil has been so beneficial to my life. He’s helped ease my anxiety and depression. I wish I could keep his sweet and lovable self around me all the time. Belle is amazing in her own right. She’s bold and she’s daring and she always keeps us guessing. She’s our doggy Houdini that’s for sure. And she’s still a big daddy’s girl.

2016-07-01-19-34-23

The best part is that they are still the best of friends. They are so close that we have made a promise that no matter what happens with us that we will make sure they always stay together. They are amazing and beautiful puppies. I will always cherish how amazing they are. They are and will always be special to me. I’m thankful that they are in my life. I’m glad that I put my fear aside and took a chance.

I hope you enjoyed this story. I put a lot of heart into it. The puppies are a big part of my life, so I found it only fitting  that they be my first personal blog posts. If you’re interested, I’ll be posting book related blogs on Mondays and Weight Loss blogs on Fridays. If not, I’ll post a personal topic every Wednesday. Please feel free to subscribe if you’d like to read any of them. I hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

