The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida

16113737

This is a book from a thirteen year old boy who was diagnosed with autism. He explains some of the biggest questions many people have always asked about autism. At the end, a short story he wrote was included.

I really enjoyed this book. I feel like I’ve learned so much about autism that I didn’t know before. I still feel like there are many things that I still need to learn, but I feel like I know the direction in which to head now to seek the knowledge I crave. Knowing something is one thing, but knowing something from that point of view is entirely another. It just goes to show that we really don’t know what it’s like to be somebody until we walk a mile in their shoes. I applaud the boy’s bravery for baring his inner most thoughts for us to hear to help us understand autism better.

The short story was so sweet. It really clinched at my heart and made me think. I just adored it. I just know that it will be one of those little stories that sticks with me forever. It will definitely make me cherish life and my family a lot better. It had such great imagination and a very beautiful ending.

With what I learned from this, I do fully recommend it. I had a sister who was diagnosed with autism who died at fourteen. Shortly after she passed away, I became aware of the Autism Awareness movement. I will never claim to be an expert on autism, but I will dedicate much time to learning as much as possible about it. I hope many people read this book and many like it. I know I’m glad I did.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16113737-the-reason-i-jump

Rating: 5 Stars

Format: Audio Book

Leave a Reply

