Things That Connect Me To A Book

slider-girl-lying-down

Readers all have a very big thing in common. We all love reading. We read with a passion that runs deep in our veins. The thing is, not every reader has the same reading style. We all like some reading materials that others don’t. We all have dislikes that are others don’t mind so much. At the end of the day, all of that doesn’t matter. We are readers who share a common love for written words. We choose to live all of our spare moments in other worlds going on adventures to real and make believe places.

I am no different than any other reader. I have my likes and dislikes. I have my favorites and my not so favorites. I have been reading all my life. I’ve only been reviewing for three years. That doesn’t mean I haven’t had an opinion on the books I’ve read before that. It just means that I was not aware I could share my opinions on books until then. I’ve decided to share some of the things that connect me with the books I read.

  1. Relating To The Characters: I find that the books I get sunk the most into are the ones that I find a character that I can really relate to. A character I can understand and sympathize with. It doesn’t necessarily have to be the main character. It could be a side character too. As long as I find one that I can connect with, I’m hooked in the book.
  2. Plot Twists: I know it sounds insane, but there is nothing I love more than being thrown through a loop one or more times in a book. I love being able to predict the endings, but I love being surprised more. It’s just great to have one of those “I wasn’t expecting that!” moments.
  3. Character Development: It’s amazing to see characters grow and change right before  you. I think this is why I choose series over stand-alones most of the time. I like seeing how much the characters grow and develop throughout the series. Don’t get me wrong, I still read stand-alones. I just prefer book series.
  4. Book Series: If it catches my attention and then I find out that it’s a book series or trilogy, I’m sold. There’s nothing I love more than investing my time in a book series surrounded by characters I grow to love and root for.
  5. Unique Twists: If a person can make something that everybody writes about unique to them, I’m hooked. Heck even if they don’t write about something that’s popular with their own unique spin, if it’s unique and never been done before, I’m completely and totally hooked. I like unique things. It’s who I am.

That’s all I can really think about. Since I’ve talked about the things I like seeing in books that will eventually hook me into the book, I’d like to talk about things that I don’t like seeing in a book. I think most of my dislikes are pretty common, but who knows. Like I said earlier in this post, everybody has their own likes and dislikes.

  1. Being Overly Sexual: Let me clarify here. I don’t mind sex scenes. A sex scene or two can sometimes even help develop the story a little more. However, when the book is completely based on sex or becomes way to over realistic, no thank you. I don’t want that. There’s a difference in a sex scene being thrown into a story and a story being molded around a sex scene. Trust me.
  2. Short Stories: I will read any short story, but I don’t really care for the shorter ones. I find that character development and stories run better in longer books. I feel like a lot of authors feel they have to rush over certain things to get the story to be a certain length. It kind of takes the fun out of the story for me.
  3. Plot Fails: I think this is a common dislike with anybody. If the plot keeps changing or something important gets brought up and never really fully explained, it’s frustrating. I guess plot holes can fall in here. If I’m left wondering what happened and what I just read, then I feel that I’ve wasted my time with that book. Example: Ted saw something strange in the barn. *Later never to be explained or talked about*. Why was that put in? Now I’m wondering what was in the barn? Was it important to the story? What are you doing to me????

That’s all of my pet peeves in books. I’m really not hard to please at all. Most of the books I’ve read and finished I have loved. If I finish a book, it at least gets three stars. If I find that I am unable to give a book three stars at least, I don’t finish it. If I was asked to read and review it, I message the author personally and explain why I won’t be finishing the book.

Well that’s the end of my blog. I’m sorry this is late. This has been a very busy week for me. I hope you enjoyed reading this blog. I’m so grateful that you’ve taken the time to do so. For those that only read my book topic blogs, a new one will be out next Monday. For those of you interested in all my blogs, I post a new one ever Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I’m still in the process of coming up with a replacement for Friday’s weight loss blogs. Thank you again for reading my blog. If you liked it, please like and share! Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

