Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon October 2016

thereader2

For those of you who don’t know what this event is or have never done anything like it, I’ll post the description here. Please note that this is directly from their webpage. I am in no way trying to claim this as my own. Here it is:

What is Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon? For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs, Twitters, Tumblrs, Goodreads and MORE about our reading, and visit other readers’ homes online. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

It was created by the beloved Dewey (her blog is archived at the Wayback Machine). The first one was held in October 2007. Dewey died in late 2008. We’re still saddened by her absence, but the show must go on. The read-a-thon was renamed to honor its founder in 2009.

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon is hosted by Heather and Andi of The Estella Society, with help from volunteers.

 

That being said, yesterday was my very first event attended. Not just with them, but any readathon. I’ve been to takeovers, I’ve been to release blitzes and cover reveals, but I had never attended or participated in a readathon. I was first invited back in April to do so. I couldn’t because I had to work that day. Once I got the invite for this time around, I immediately jumped on it. I requested two days off for it and everything.

I was super excited. I wanted to know everything. I wanted to do nothing but read. I wanted to be a part of this world that seemed so out of touch for me. With a full schedule constantly on my hands, I barely have time to read. I was also nervous about it. I didn’t do as well as others, but I was impressed with my progress anyways.

Here’s my progress of the 24 Hours:

b6fedf66c79fe3ce29684fd5f213e3bf

I’m pretty proud of my progress considering the amount of reading I’ve done in the past couple years. I’ll have a strategy for all future readathons. And yes, I do plan on attending more of these. Not just Dewey’s twice a year, but I plan to find more as well. If I could find a way to get involved in one a month or one every other month, I will. Even if I have to make my own up.

Here’s the link to the event I attended:

http://www.24hourreadathon.com/?page_id=5

For readers out there who have never experienced a readathon, I encourage it whole heartedly. I can’t explain the rush I felt as the hours moved on. The pride I felt at connecting with all of these amazing readers. They even had a little door prize and challenge at the top of every hour! I may not have one anything, but in a way I feel like I did. I opened up a door to myself that I never thought existed before. I realized something in me that I didn’t know was there.

There are many types of marathoners. I know that now. It’s not just about vigorous exercise. It’s not always about extreme competing. It’s also about the dedication and the ability to push yourself no matter how much you think you can’t do something. Some people may not consider what I did a true marathon, but I do. I feel like I’m destined to do these types of marathons. Hopefully, I’ll stumble upon more in the future! Until then, I’m more than honored to keep attending Dewey’s twice a year. I’ll make it a point to request off the second I know the dates.

Heather and Andi, thank you for a wonderful event. I’m so glad that I got a chance to participate in something so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

