My First Readathon

images

For months, I’ve felt really pressured to try to read faster. I’ve felt like I wasn’t reading enough. I felt I was being looked down upon by everybody who depended on me to get the books I agreed to done. Needless to say, this anxiety and pressure took a lot of the joy of reading out of me. I didn’t want to pressure myself to read, so I took a few months off.

After the couple months was up, I wound up feeling too busy and overwhelmed to actually read. I moved to nights a couple months ago and thought I’d have more time to read being as I had a steady schedule. It wasn’t that simple. I do have that schedule I was wanting, but it took awhile to get there and that was frustrating to me being how far behind I already was.

I was invited to participate in a readathon. I’d never done one before but it sounded so amazing I couldn’t say no! I requested some of my vacation time off to do it. I wasn’t expecting much of anything to be honest. I was expecting to fail or have something come up or anything that would keep me from reading the whole night. I was wrong.

I came out of that night reading a full novel. Most participants read more than that. They were amazing! I’m not going to compare myself to them though because I feel I did amazing too! I went from reading like a snail to getting a whole book done in a day! I was so amazed and happy.

I know this may sound crazy, but I feel like I found my place when I did it. I feel like the readathon helped me put my priorities in perspective a little bit. I don’t want to write books. I don’t even want to edit books. I want to read and enjoy books. I want to get that same love for reading I used to have before I launched myself into the review world. I know I can do that with readathons.

I’ll still review and I’ll still post a blog. Even though I don’t want to publish books, I still love writing. I still love pouring everything I have into work that I’m lucky enough to get people that read them. I have found my place in the reading world though. I’m happy with it.

My plan is to participate in all #24in48 readathons and all of Dewey’s 24 Hour readathons. I’ll also have my own low key readathon the second Monday of every month. Since there won’t be prizes in mine, I’ll more consider it a practice than anything else. If you’re interested in joining it, here’s the link to the group I made:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/shadowloungereadathon/

Well that’s all I have to write about. I’ll be back next Tuesday for another awesome book related blog! For those of you who don’t know, I have decided to cut my blogs down to once a week. I will no longer be writing a story or about my personal topics. I’ll post a book topic once a week. I’ll still make the random unscheduled blogs that I always have, but this will be the only scheduled one. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blogs! Enjoy your week!

One thought on “My First Readathon

Leave a Reply

