Random Vent: Over-exaggerating Things You Heard

This is going to be a random vent. The reason I call it random is because nothing recently happened. It just hit me that I’ve seen it happen a lot and have never really talked about it. so why not start here? Let me explain this fully. Have you ever been in a conversation with somebody and you’re telling them a story or you’re venting about something and they make it sound like the worst imaginable thing possible? Where you’re just confused and don’t understand how they got from your point to the end of the universe? Example:Person 1: I’m really hungry. I was going to eat before work, but I had a lot of things to do so I wound up just not having time.Person 2: You don’t have any food at the house? Do you need some money?! That drives me mad. I just want to scream in frustration. Slam my head into a wall because I really just can’t understand where they came up with the idea they came up with.Are you listening to what the person has to say? Why are you trying to cause unneeded drama? I just don’t understand you. The worst of it is when they don’t listen to you correcting them and go and spread their exaggeration around to everybody you know. All the sudden you’re getting calls asking if you’re about to lose power or something. Now, this isn’t directed at anybody. I’m sure it will make EVERYBODY who reads this think of somebody. If you aren’t able to come up with people that it reminds you of, either you’re really lucky or you’re like this. May need to reflect on how you listen to people. I am not bashing anybody, though. In the end, there’s a difference between mishearing something and giving the person time to correct you and flat out making up what they said because you tuned them out and drew your own conclusions. If you liked this blog, please feel free to share. I’ll make more blogs like this when the inspiration strikes me. I also write two different series every day. One is a day in my life and the other is a daily challenge blog. Feel free to check them out. Subscribe if you’d like to see more! Note to readers: I do not own this photo. I found it on a Google search of conversation.

Source: Random Vent: Over-exaggerating Things You Heard

Leave a Reply

