Safe Lands: Chapter Two

Bloggers Note:I apologize this is late. I have been very under the weather lately. I didn’t get on the computer at all yesterday. I hope you all enjoy chapter two of Safe Lands. If you haven’t read chapter one, I’ll have a link to it in the comments! Chapter TwoWe spent two weeks planning and detailing everything as best as we could. We trained with weapons as much as we could. We wanted to be comfortable with multiple weapons in case we had to grab the first one we could find during potential combat.We packed rations enough for everybody. The boys insisted on bringing our bows and arrows so we can hunt on the way. None of us knew how long that this trip could take, so everybody agreed to the idea. We only packed food that wouldn’t perish during the trip. I wasn’t sure what we were going to do when we found the next safe land to settle on, but I was comforted by the fact that we would be taken care of on the way.The boys insisted on carrying the heavier things. Lilly wasn’t happy about this, but in the end, they won her over. I secretly was very okay with their decision on taking the heavier load. I still insisted on arguing anyways. In the end, I was glad they won.We were shocked at how easy it was to talk Portia and Amaya into going with us. The Queen and King insisted on making an announcement to let everybody know of our departure. Torvik, Shade’s best friend, insisted on going with us. He wouldn’t hear any arguments. Not that any of us really tried all that hard to talk him out of it. That didn’t shock me, though. I think we all kind of just expected him to be joining us.The volunteer that did shock me, however, was Sei. Sei and Lilly had a secret love interest that everybody knew about but pretended not to. The look on her face when he insisted on going was priceless. I had to stifle a laugh as he stated his arguments for going without even giving anybody a chance to argue with him. It was definitely obvious that he had planned it all out and wasn’t going to give anybody a chance to argue him out of it.The day before we planned to leave, the Queen and King insisted we have a going away party. It was a very emotional event. Many people wished us well and asked that we remember them while we were traveling. We told them we would and got a few pictures to take with us.I took my time to talk to everybody who had been an important part of my life. I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to see them again. I don’t think I need to state that a lot of tears were shed that night. I’d like to say that I didn’t cry a single tear, but I’d be lying. These people had become like family to me. Walking away from them would be one of the hardest things I’d ever have to do. Lilly was right, though. If there were people out there that needed help to safety, we should do the best we could to help them.The group of intended travelers snuck away early that night so that we could get a decent nights sleep. We were all exhausted from socializing, stuffing our faces with amazing food, and dancing. A tent had been set up for all of us to sleep together so that it would be easier for us to group together and head out.I woke up a couple hours earlier than everybody else. I couldn’t get back to sleep, so I sat outside and watched and memorized all the details around me. I was filled with dread and anticipation. I was going to miss a lot of people here. I’d grown attached to many people and considered them family. It’s really hard to explain the importance of family to those who have never been without one. It’s hard to explain the feeling of being accepted to those who were never rejected.I had myself a small and quiet crying jag while the others were still asleep. I made sure I was cleaned up and made a point of seeming like I was getting everything together when they started to wake up. Nobody really asked questions on why I was still up, but I saw Lilly sneak glances at me occasionally. She kept quiet though as to not attract attention from the others.Once we were ready, we made our way to the edge of the safe land that we hadlearned to call our home these past few years. Many of the people who lived there walked us all the way to the edge. It broke my heart to see that quite a few of them were crying. Made me wonder how many of them expected to see us make it through alive.I half expected Zombies to be camped out at the edges of our safe land, but there were none around. We walked for miles before we encountered any type of life at all. If this Zombie could be considered a living being

Source: Safe Lands: Chapter Two

Leave a Reply

