Author Spotlight: Paige Dearth

I had the honor of reading a great book called Mean Little Liars. Afterward, I was so moved by the book that I contacted the author to talk to her. I find her very amazing and talented. I also find that she is a very strong and determined woman who I am honored to have met. I have included a bit about her as well as her links and an interview with her in this blog. Paige Dearth was a victim of child abuse. She writes real-life horror and refers to her work as: Fiction with Meaning. Stories teach lessons and Paige hopes that awareness through fiction creates prevention.Paige will continue to write stories about young children who need to overcome adversity and then take you on their life’s journey. Her goal through fiction is to get readers so invested in the story and characters you will become one with the tome. You will shed tears of joy, grief, rage, and horror. You will be emotionally invested in the outcome. She wants her readers to be thinking about the story long after they have turned the last page.Some may say why write about such controversial and difficult subjects. Paige feels that if we look the other way and don’t address society’s fears no real growth will ever happen. As Ben Franklin said: “Justice will not be served until those who are unaffected are as outraged as those who are.” Society should not look the other way because a subject seems too difficult to handle, just remember her books are fiction but people live through these real-life horrors.So, buckle up and take a Paige Dearth life changing journey. It may take you into a new world of renewed enlightenment to make a difference and change the life of a child.Amazon Author Pagehttps://www.amazon.com/Paige-Dearth/e/B008NWZ30OWebsitehttp://paigedearth.com/Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5100156.Paige_DearthFaceBookhttps://www.facebook.com/paigedearthThe Interview:1. How difficult is it to write the type of books you write?The subjects I write about are difficult social issues related to children. My books are written from an emotional level, meaning, that I need to feel the emotions for them to be a part of my book. As an author, in my mind, I literally become each of the characters as I am writing them. I have to feel their pain, horror, happiness, love, bravery, courage and every other emotion to do each of them justice. You may have heard authors use the term method writer, well, that’s what I consider myself to be. If I can’t physically be in the situation I give myself the time to transport my mind into the scenes where my stories take place. I do this to the point where my vision is blurred by my tears (good thing I know the keyboard well).2. What inspired you to write Mean Little People?Let me start by saying this was a different story for me because it’s the first time I used a male protagonist. I was inspired to write Mean Little People from the encouragement of my readers. Many of them wanted to know the back story of Tony and Vincent; both characters were in my novels When Smiles Fade and One Among Us. Of course, there couldn’t be Tony and Vincent without Salvatore. I chose Tony to be the main character in Mean Little People because I was more drawn to him. Tony is the gentle giant, the type of bad guy that you love and actually cheer for him to get revenge. I had intended for this book to be a novella, but once I started writing I felt like the story deserved more, so I made it a novel. I also learned that I am not a novella girl.3. Did you have to do any research with Mean Little People?I did some research on infamous mobsters, specifically to understand how these violent killers were also lovers, friends, and family men. I was inspired to base this book in bullying because I was bullied as an adult. Having the ability to reason and given my life experiences, I found being bullied put me in a lonely and hopeless place. This made me wonder how children manage through constant torment from their peers. I used the feelings of my own bullying experience to bring through the real deal. I wanted to show what could happen when a child is bullied and will do anything to protect themselves. I’m not so sure why we have such mean little people in this world, but I tried to put a spotlight on the subject because it’s so difficult to live your life when others are torturing you.4. Were there any characters in the book that just kind of wrote themselves into the story?Yes, Donato just hap

Source: Author Spotlight: Paige Dearth

Leave a comment